Mines master’s student wins top prize at SPE Rocky Mountain Student Symposium & Paper Contest

GOLDEN, Colo., March 15, 2016 – Students from the Colorado School of Mines Department of Petroleum Engineering participated in the 2016 Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Rocky Mountain Student Symposium & Paper Contest recently hosted by Montana Tech University.

Master’s student Angela Dang won first place in the master’s category and will get to present her research on chemical tracers in hydraulic fracturing at SPE’s Annual Technical Conference & Exhibition to be held in September in Dubai.

Mines’ other winners included Ashley Burke, who earned 2nd place in the bachelor’s division and Bryan McDowell, who also snagged 2nd place in the doctoral division.

Other petroleum engineering students from Mines participated including master’s student Ryan Paldanius, and PhD students Bryan McDowell and Ralf Holy. Mines SPE chapter President David VanAkkeren also attended. 

This was the first annual symposium in Rocky Mountain Region, with seven regional universities participating. Judges from industry and academia chose winners within the three degree divisions.  

The Mines SPE chapter representatives at Montana Tech, from left: Ralf Holy, Ryan Paldanius, Angela Dang, Ashley Burke, Bryan McDowell, faculty mentor Elio Dean and David VanAkkeren


About Mines
Colorado School of Mines is a public R1 research university focused on applied science and engineering, producing the talent, knowledge and innovations to serve industry and benefit society – all to create a more prosperous future.