Emilie Rusch

21 Mines faculty members awarded promotions, tenure

Terry Bridgman in the classroom during AMS field session

Teaching Professor Terry Bridgman one of 21 Mines faculty members to be awarded promotions earlier this month interacts with students during the Applied Mathematics and Statistics field session.

The Colorado School of Mines Board of Trustees awarded promotions and/or tenure to 21 Mines faculty members at its April meeting.

"Mines faculty are inspiring individuals who truly transform the frontiers of knowledge through their work in the classroom and laboratory, and I am very impressed by their commitment to both their students and their scholarship,” Mines Provost Richard C. Holz said. “I am honored to recognize this class of 21 teaching and tenure-track professors with these much-deserved promotions and tenure designations.”

Applied Mathematics and Statistics

  • Terry Bridgman, promotion to Teaching Professor
  • Holly Eklund, promotion to Teaching Professor
  • Jennifer Strong, promotion to Teaching Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

  • Moises Carreon, promotion to Professor
  • Michael Barankin, promotion to Teaching Associate Professor


  • Shubham Vyas, tenure and promotion to Associate Professor
  • Angela Sower, promotion to Teaching Professor

Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • Christopher Bellona, tenure and promotion to Associate Professor 

Computer Science

  • Hao Zhang, tenure and promotion to Associate Professor 

Economics & Business

  • Ian Lange, tenure and promotion to Associate Professor 

Electrical Engineering

  • Gongguo Tang, tenure and promotion to Associate Professor
  • Chris Coulston, promotion to Teaching Professor

Geology and Geological Engineering

  • Thomas Monecke, promotion to Professor
  • Piret Plink-Björklund, promotion to Professor
  • Lesli Wood, tenure at level of Professor

Mechanical Engineering

  • Robert Braun, promotion to Professor 
  • Veronica Eliasson, tenure at level of Associate Professor

Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

  • Brian Gorman, promotion to Professor
  • Zhenzhen Yu, tenure and promotion to Associate Professor 

Mining Engineering

  • Elizabeth Holley, tenure and promotion to Associate Professor

Petroleum Engineering

  • Jennifer Miskimins, promotion to Professor
Emilie Rusch

Emilie Rusch

Public Information Specialist
About Mines
Colorado School of Mines is a public research university focused on science and engineering, where students and faculty together address the great challenges society faces today - particularly those related to the Earth, energy and the environment.