Emilie Rusch

5 Mines professors named University Distinguished Professors

New University Distinguished Professors with President Johnson

The new University Distinguished Professors — from left, Kristine Callan, Tracy Gardner, Debra Carney, Rob Braun and Jeff Squier — pose with Mines President Paul C. Johnson during the 2023 Faculty Awards Celebration on April 26.

Five Mines faculty members have been granted the title of University Distinguished Professor and University Distinguished Teaching Professor for 2023-2024, the highest honorific title that can be conferred on a professor at Mines. 

University Distinguished Professor 

The title of University Distinguished Professor is selectively granted to tenured full professors who do not currently hold a chaired professorship for bringing great distinction to Mines through the impact of their teaching, mentoring, discovery, innovation and international recognition. 

The 2023-2024 appointees are: 

  • Dr. Rob Braun, Professor of Mechanical Engineering 

  • Dr. Jeff Squier, Professor of Physics 

University Distinguished Teaching Professor 

The title of University Distinguished Teaching Professor is granted selectively to teaching professors and professors of practice who have brought great recognition to Mines through the impact of their teaching, mentoring, and pedagogical innovations. 

The 2023-2024 awardees are: 

  • Dr. Deb Carney, Teaching Professor of Applied Mathematics and Statistics 

  • Dr. Tracy Gardner, Teaching Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering 

  • Dr. Kristine Callan, Teaching Professor of Physics 

Emilie Rusch

Emilie Rusch

Director of Communications
About Mines
Colorado School of Mines is a public R1 research university focused on applied science and engineering, producing the talent, knowledge and innovations to serve industry and benefit society – all to create a more prosperous future.