Mines shifts academic structure to college system

UPDATE: Oct. 17, 2012 – Names of the second and third colleges have been announced. The College of Applied Science and Engineering (CASE) encompasses Chemistry and Geochemistry, Chemical and Biological Engineering, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering, and Physics. The College of Earth Resource Sciences and Engineering (CERSE) will encompass Economics and Business, Geology and Geological Engineering, Geophysics, Liberal Arts and International Studies, Mining Engineering, and Petroleum Engineering.


GOLDEN, Colo., Sept. 11, 2012 – In an effort to promote excellence in research and academic degree programs at Colorado School of Mines, along with stronger collaborations across departments, officials have announced a new three college structure.

“We believe the college structure is necessary to take all of Mines’ disciplines to the next level to meet not only our student expectations, but also ensure the future growth and continued vitality of the university,” said Terry Parker, Mines provost and executive vice president.

The new colleges include:

  • College of Engineering and Computational Sciences: Departments of Applied Mathematics and Statistics, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and Mechanical Engineering.
  • Second college (yet to be named): Departments of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Chemistry, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering, and Physics.
  • Third college (yet to be named): Division of Economics and Business, Department of Geology and Geological Engineering, Department of Geophysics, Division of Liberal Arts and International Studies, Department of Mining Engineering, and Department of Petroleum Engineering.




David Tauchen, Public Relations Specialist / 303-273-3088 / DTauchen@mines.edu
Karen Gilbert, Director of Public Relations / 303-273-3541 / KGilbert@mines.edu