Mines Department of Physics receives distinctive American Physical Society award

GOLDEN, Colo., Nov. 5, 2012 – The American Physical Society has selected Colorado School of Mines Department of Physics to receive an “Improving Undergraduate Physics Education Award.”

The APS website states: “The Department of Physics at The Colorado School of Mines has substantially transformed itself over the last decade, using an iterative model of innovation, implementation, and assessment. Their dedicated and aggressive approach has transformed all levels of their curriculum, from introductory classes for non-majors to senior level courses and seminars. Over the past decade the number of majors has more than doubled, from 114 students in 2000-2001 to 258 students in 2011-2012, significantly outpacing the overall growth of the student body. They are now one of the top five largest physics departments in the country, graduating on average 56 seniors per year since 2006.”

Mines is among the first physics departments in the country to earn this prestigious award. The university will be recognized during a special ceremony during an April meeting of the APS in Denver.

“We are truly honored to receive this award from the APS. Every member of our faculty is devoted to providing an effective and meaningful education for our physics majors. We have a close-knit learning community in the department in which we are all, both students and faculty, helping each other to achieve our professional goals,” said Tom Furtak, head of Mines’ physics department.

For more information on the award, see the APS website.


Karen Gilbert, Director of Public Relations / 303-273-3541 / KGilbert@mines.edu
David Tauchen, Public Relations Specialist / 303-273-3088 / DTauchen@mines.edu