Mines Army ROTC battalion receives MacArthur Award

GOLDEN, Colo., Feb. 22, 2013 – The Buffalo Battalion, hosted by the University of Colorado at Boulder and including Colorado School of Mines Army ROTC and 12 other affiliate schools, was selected from among 273 Senior Army ROTC units for the MacArthur Award.

The award is given to the top schools within each of eight brigades across the nation and is based on a combination of the achievement of the school’s commissioning mission and its cadet’s performance and standing on the command’s National Order of Merit List and its Cadet retention rate. Colorado School of Mines is the top science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) producing school for the Buffalo Battalion. 

The schools to receive this year’s MacArthur Award are: Texas A&M University representing Cadet Command’s 1st Brigade; Gannon University (2nd Brigade); Iowa State University (3rd Brigade); University of Virginia (4th Brigade); University of Colorado at Boulder (including Mines, Metro State University and 11 affiliate schools, 5th Brigade); University of Georgia (6th Brigade); University of Notre Dame, (7th Brigade); and Pacific Lutheran University (8th Brigade).

The schools were selected for their performance in the 2011-12 school year.

Karen Gilbert, Director of Public Relations, Colorado School of Mines / 303-273-3541 / KGilbert@mines.edu